Postmodern Quiet


A 1968 release of John Cage’s quiet Concerto for Prepared Piano & Orchestra and Lukas Foss’s equally subtle series of orchestral variations in the Baroque mode. Both composers are challenging and known to make audiences disgruntled and uncomfortable (Cage’s 4:33 is, after all, the musical counterpart to Duchamp’s infamous “Fountain”) and both were about as avant-garde as you could be. The Nonesuch wraparound gatefold art sleeve here blends the classical and the abstract in a fitting collage harkening to dadaist pastiche.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s